MEMA: College Slang

Standard

I must say.

If there’s one thing I learned from my marketing classes, it’s how to executive a subtle, graceful, believable MEMA. What is this mema, you might ask? It’s another one of those often initially random and ridiculous terms coined out of nowhere in my college that has transitioned from ‘What?’ to being fabricated into the daily conversations among our tightly-knit community.

“Hi! I just finished my mema paper in an hour tops!”

Oh, I haven’t given the definition yet.

Mema. Noun/verb. 1) To say out one’s thoughts out for the sake of having something to say*, so as to accrue points in a classroom discussion setting, or for whatever personal intent or purpose.

[Origin: Tagalog ‘May masabi’ meaning ‘Just have something to say’.

*Or in my case, to have something to write or submit.

But really, you can’t fault me. A friend once commented how marketing takes such gut-feel, bullshit work (quoted from Phillterr, if you’re reading–which I know you’re not). It’s true at some level. I’ve taken two core marketing classes, and really, despite the presence and use of marketing frameworks, they’re mostly there to help you organize your thoughts, data, and strategy. At the core of it really, as my friend puts it, is just simple, straightforward ‘gut-feel bullshit’Which is why, with him being more being biased towards the heavy use of and referencing to actual, heavy facts and data, he doesn’t like it. But we’re different and I do.

Oh, before you read on further, I’m sure any of you who’s had any real, relevant marketing experience in the past, are raising your eyebrows right now. Of course, at the very basic you need marketing data and research to back up your recommendations and strategy, but still it’s up to the marketer how he sees and chooses to utilize the ‘facts’. And as I’ve learned, even some market surveys geared towards digging more helpful consumer insights are not as successful, because oftentimes what people/customers express might be not true to their real sentiments, whether intentional or not.

So what merited this post? Simply because I have so far drafted and built an almost four-pager paper out of virtually nothing–well maybe just a short emailed interview, some quick searches from Google, and some casually solicited observations from the two most helpful roommates.

I haven’t really finished it because I’m still trying to polish the recommendations part. And now I see you asking: “I thought she said mema?” Well, yes, but my mark for this paper is still heavily laced with the content and as much as it might be mema at its core, remember that a successful mema entails a subtle, unnoticeable one.

So I believe I’ll end this point at this stage because I have an exam in two days, and unfortunately that’s something I can’t mema**.

**Yipee, used as a verb this time.

Leave a Reply

